Former India captain Sunil Gavaskar has questioned the umpires’ call clause in DRS and has added the voice of Sachin Tendulkar. Sachin has asked the ICC to see it again. Gavaskar said, ‘I think the way Smith got out shows that even if the ball hits the stumps, its speed is so high that it can blow the gills. If you are appealing to LBW and the ball is in the upper part of the stumps, then the spinner’s ball also has speed so that the gills can fly.
Smith bowled Bumrah for the third day on Monday for the third day. Smith attempted to play the ball coming towards the hip towards the off-stump but the ball took the stumps from near his hip. If the ball was on their pads and LBW was appealed and the umpire thought it was not out, then he might not have been given out. The DRS would use umpires’ call here.
The ‘umpires call’ clause comes in ball tracking technology when the matter is very close and the decision is upheld by the on-field umpire. Gavaskar also said that the matches would end soon if they were given out every time the stumps were placed on the top. He said, “If it is given out every time, then we will see the match end quickly.” Earlier, Sachin questioned the umpires’ call.
AUS vs IND 2nd Test day 3: Which trick of Ajinkya Rahane is heavy on the Kangaroos? View full report
Sachin tweeted, ‘Players take the review because they are not happy with the on-field umpire’s decision. The ICC needs to see the DRS again, especially for umpires’ call. Umpires’ call twice saved Australia’s batsmen on Monday, the third day of the third Test match being played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) between Australia and India.
Read – One more title for Kohli, ICC wins ODI cricketer of the decade, Dhoni wins heart
Jasprit Bumrah appealed to LBW in the third over of the second innings against Joe Burns. The umpire called it a not out on which India took a review, but Burns survived the umpires’ call. After this, Marnus Labushane also survived the dismissal of Mohammad Siraj for the same reason. Here too the umpire gave him not out but India took a review and Labushane also survived due to the umpires’ call.